Patient Chat

Patient Chat

By far the easiest and most convenient way to schedule, reschedule and reach hard to get a hold of patients is via text message using  Patient Chat. It enables Vital Interaction users to send and receive SMS (text) messages with patients, including files that are on jpeg, gif, jpg, png, bmp, mp4, mpeg, ogg, arm, ac3, 3pg, csv, rtf, pdf, ics, vcard. Please be aware that the maximum size is 5MB.

How to use:

On any Worklist, go to the far right of the patient row that you want to schedule or reschedule and click "Actions" drop-down menu.

Select "Messaging" from the actions drop-down menu.

From here, you can begin typing a message for this patient (First, if you're trying to reschedule, remember to check the "Notes & Attachments" to see why they canceled and if they let you know when/if they can reschedule). This arrives on the patient's phone as a text message that they can reply to and opens a convenient line of communication between your practice and the patient. 

Other ways to access:

Patient Chat is accessible from several places within the Vital Interaction platform.

  • Main Menu - Messaging > Patient Messaging > Patient Chat
  • Type the name of any patient that has been loaded into Vital Interaction from your PM or EMR into the search bar at the top of the screen. After you search for the patient, select the patient record you would like and then click on the "Chat" tab within the patient record to initiate a chat with that patient.
  • To see incoming text notifications, click the message icon in the top right. If you have any unread, you will see a red number.
  • Or simply click any patient's name while working on a Worklist to be taken to the patient record and then click the "Chat" tab to send the patient a message.

PHI Consent: The patient is always free to send any information they would like to the practice via text message, including PHI, at any time. If you would like to send PHI to the patient via text message, you will first want to have the patient digitally sign the PHI consent which is logged and recorded on our secure servers. Immediately after the patient receives the PHI consent via text message they must reply "Yes" for the consent to be marked as signed and accepted.

Statuses

Active - When a new message is received for a patient/number that thread status will be automatically changed to active.

Pending - When you send a message to a patient the status will automatically change to pending to denote that you have reached out to the patient. Messages can be manually moved to this status as well to denote that the practice is not yet finished with this thread/patient and follow up is needed either from the patient or from the practice. You can also change the status to closed at the time you send the message to move the message directly to the closed status after the message is sent if you are finished.
Closed - A message is changed to this status to denote that no further action is required.
Spam - This status is used to mark a message/number/sender as Spam. Once marked as Spam, all future messages from that number/sender will always go to spam unless the user manually changes the status of the patient/number to Active, Pending or Closed.

Still need help? Contact Support Contact Support